Arkansas State Archives

Arkansas History Commission


The Arkansas History Commission is administered by a seven-member board, appointed by the Governor with the approval of the State Senate. Commissioners serve seven-year terms staggered with one term expiring each January. Commissioners may be reappointed. The Arkansas History Commission meets quarterly throughout the year.


The Arkansas History Commission meetings rotate between meetings at the Arkansas State Archives conference room at 1 Capitol Mall, Room 2B-215 and locations around the state. The meetings are open to the public. The dates and locations are listed on the state events calendar at


Brady Banta
Jonesboro, Arkansas

Shawn Fisher
Searcy, Arkansas

Ronald Fuller
Little Rock, Arkansas

Jason B. Hendren
Bentonville, Arkansas

Heather Nelson
Little Rock, Arkansas

Rod Soubers
Mountain Home, Arkansas

Dr. Micheal Tarver
Dardanelle, Arkansas

Arkansas Historical Records Advisory Board

The Arkansas History Commission also serves as the Arkansas Historical Advisory Board (ARHAB) to assist public and private nonprofit organizations throughout the state in the acquisition, preservation and use of records of enduring value. The AHRAB also receives, reviews and makes recommendations on all grant applications to fund historical records projects in Arkansas through the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), the grant-making affiliate of the National Archives and Records Administration. The NHPRC "supports a wide range of activities to preserve, publish and encourage the use of documentary sources created in every medium ranging from quill pen to computer, relating to the history of the United States."

Congress established the NHPRC in 1934 to promote the preservation and use of America's documentary heritage. Each year, Congress appropriates up to $10 million for grants. More about the grant program can be accessed on the NHPRC Grant Program page.