Print Skip Navigation LinksHome/About Us/Black History Commission of Arkansas/Commissioners

The Black History Commission of Arkansas is administered by a seven-member board, appointed by the Governor with the approval of the State Senate. Commissioners serve seven-year terms staggered with one term expiring each January. The Black History Commission meets quarterly throughout the year.

In 2018, the Black History Commission of Arkansas will be meeting at noon in the Arkansas State Archives conference room at One Capitol Mall, Room 2B-215, on the following dates (subject to change): February 8th, May 10th, August 9th, November 8th.  The commission asks that applicants for the Curtis H. Sykes Memorial Grant please limit their presentations to no more than 5 minutes. 


  • Carla Coleman
    Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Dr. Cherisse Jones-Branch
    Jonesboro, Arkansas
  • Pat Finley Johnson
    Pocahontas, Arkansas
  • Jesse Hargrove
    Alexander, Arkansas
  • Myron Jackson
    Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Elise Hampton
    Conway, Arkansas
  • Frank Stewart
    Conway, Arkansas